Current Affairs
Select Date

V Narayanaswamy to be Puducherry Chief Minister

V Narayanaswamy is going to sworn in as the Chief Minister of Puducherry.
•    The decision came after the state party leaders consulted the party high command in Delhi on the choice of chief minister.
•    Senior Congress leader and former Delhi chief minister Sheila Dikshit and party general secretary Mukul Wasnik attended the meeting as AICC observers.
•    Narayanasamy was elected unanimously by all the Congress legislators.
•    Narayanasamy, who is also a party general secretary, did not contest the elections.
•    There were three contenders for the chief minister's post - former chief minister V.Vaithilingam, party chief A.Namassivayam and Narayanasamy.
•    The Congress-DMK alliance won a simple majority by bagging 17 of the 30 Assembly seats.
•    He is a former Member of the Parliament of India who represented Puducherry constituency. 
•    In the 2014 general elections, he was defeated by the NDA candidate R.Radhakrishnan who was backed by the ruling All India N.R. Congress. 
•    He is a member of the Congress Working Committee as well as All India Congress Committee's General Secretary.